Well, what have I been up to?  We had our AGM at the club on the park where I live.  Was a good evening, and after the meeting we provided cheese and wine, which gives people the chance to chat.  All went well until I reached across to pick up a cheese biscuit at the back of the table and proceeded to knock over a glass of red wine!!!  It went everywhere!  The tablecloth was soaked, also some splashes went on our Chairlady’s trousers! 

Have you ever wanted to run and hide?  Yes, I know!  So I had the job of cleaning up.  Took the cloth home but couldn’t get the stain out.  Left with a dirty brown splodge!  Fortunately the lady whose trousers I may have ruined was ok about it.  As for the cloth, well the next time it is used we will have to put the stained bit at the back and place things strategically!   

The table looked good with the food and wine
Until I got up and went to get mine
I reached across and disaster then struck
Next thing I knew it had all gone amok!

I knocked over a glass which was full of red
Oh dear how I wanted to hide my head
That wine spread around and made such a mess
I was so sorry I have to confess

Poor Eleanor’s trousers, will they come clean?
Maybe they will, it remains to be seen
The cloth is as stained as much as can be
Have to hide the marks so no-one can see

I will certainly be more careful in future!

Met some nice people at the Writers Group I have joined.  It is good to chat with other authors face to face.  Looking forward to the next meet up.

Not much else of note has happened.  Still trying to be industrious on the writing front, but do get sidetracked!

Chat more later, take care everyone.

6/17/2013 04:56:02 am

Don't worry. We are human and I am willing to bet you that everyone in that room has done something quite similar. I know how you felt because again we've all been there - even Eleanor.

Oh yes, you will be more careful next time because now know the consequences. This is how we learn -- Remember Pavlov's Dog and the Classical Conditioning Theory? Now you're conditioned, huh?

It was nice of you to see if you could clean the linen and take care of Eleanor's attire, however.

Chin up!

Reply
Lynn Webb
6/18/2013 06:43:49 am

I know exactly how you felt when that wine was knocked over. As the lady who commented above said....we've all done something similar at some point in our lives, unfortunately it's usually on someone else's carpet or table cloth, and you feel terrible! I'm sure the cloth will get plenty more uses with the stain area well covered up, and plenty more
spills on it too!

Reply
Ann Stanmore
6/18/2013 07:17:50 am

Thank you Cherrye

Reply
Pat Randall
6/18/2013 07:53:48 am

Isn't it amazing how we enjoy reading about another persons misfortune, but as has been said we've all been 'there' at sometime.

Reply



Leave a Reply.